“What if” tomorrow drawings were not required?

Is there enough information elsewhere to get the job done? In reference to my first post of the year, I don’t know! That irritates me. As one of those people whose first reaction is to reach for the nearest internet portal and find out. So I am going to try and find out this year. By asking some key questions, pondering on this blog and asking colleagues and consumers in my industry. What if?

About Shaun Farrell

I have been involved in the construction sector since 1986 and over the years I have seen things change dramatically. Much of the change has been directly as a result of technology. This blog will be about the key combinations of People, Process and Technology. Any views expressed here are strictly my own.
This entry was posted in Brain Dump, People, Process, Tools. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “What if” tomorrow drawings were not required?

  1. Sounds like a re-read (I’m sure it will be something you’ve read in the past) of Marshall MacLuhan’s Understanding Media could play a part in this commentary. Drawings are a great abstraction of a model and have real functional benefits on site over a model. Whilst I am not against the death of drawings I think its also worth exploring the consequences of a world without them. What technology would we use in their absense and what would the consequences of it be.

    • That’s pretty much exactly where I wanted to go. I could have guessed you would see the track I was trying to follow. I don’t think we will ever or “should” ever get rid of them. I would like to discover who needs them, when and where. Working backwards from the hole in the ground.

  2. Carl Collins says:

    The drawing is dead, long live the data! I actively want to get rid of drawings, they remove data from what is issued, are a 2D representation of a 3D object, which can only lead to misinterpretation. If you need a view of a model to stick on the wall while installing the ductwork, take a view of the model and print it.

Leave a Reply

