I do not like BIM

Nothing quite like a title “I do not like BIM” to kick off a new year. I think it is an over used term that is too limiting. But it is easy to use though and most people “get it”. I even have it on my business card but I am still trying to think of a better one to change it to. The acronym B.I.M. (it’s not a word by the way) limits itself to Buildings, how daft is that. Surely the built environment might be better? B.E.I.M. Is it modelling or management? Should assets be in there and so it goes on. I think GSD works much better. Getting Sh*t Done! I do not want to just manage information I want to leverage and utilise it. I want it to work for/with me and not against me based on how hard it is to get hold of. I want the data/information at my fingertips that will allow me to make better decisions rather than “best guess based on my experience”. I want to KNOW and I want to KNOW NOW! Because I have limited time to GSD!

About Shaun Farrell

I have been involved in the construction sector since 1986 and over the years I have seen things change dramatically. Much of the change has been directly as a result of technology. This blog will be about the key combinations of People, Process and Technology. Any views expressed here are strictly my own.
This entry was posted in Brain Dump, GSD, Rant. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I do not like BIM

  1. Rob Clark says:

    Love it! 🙂

    My opinion for what it’s worth! I tend to think of the word “Building” in terms of the action, rather than the object, which does free up the term somewhat and allows us to apply it to infrastructure and such like. “Modelling” can also go beyond a 3D geometric model when thought about in the mathematical sense – ironically, according to some what was what was originally meant.

    But overall, BIM is just a nice term which allows us to talk with a common vocab. It allows me to communicate with those not yet initiated with collaborative data rich workflows. It allows me to talk to them without bambozzling with isolated terms rather one which the whole industry recognise. Further, it allows us to talk to one another without tripping over all sorts of acronyms and opinions, and confusing language that the industry is awash with otherwise!

    HOWEVER, I do agree that “BIM”, can sometimes be a distraction, with people trying to productise it into something that is one thing that you deliver in one way, rather than asking the question, “what do you need to GSD better and more efficiently on this project with better outcomes, both internally and externally?”

  2. Aaron Maller says:

    I have to agree, that the word/acronym/implications-of-all-that-follow drive me insane. My official title is BIM Manager, and I despise both words in the title. The fact that its widely received and widely perceived (albeit very differently- all by people who believe everyone else believes what they believe) makes it even more ambiguous, and it ranks on my annoyance-meter right up there with seeing how many D’s we can tack on to construction. I have faith we will be doing 9D construction soon, no worries.

    But of all the terms out there, which are fitting? Building (n/v) Information Modeling/Management, Virtual Design and Construction, Digital Design, Design Technology, and the list goes on. When people ask me what i do for a living, i like to joke with them, and tell them “not much.” What I mean is, I really see what we do with “this thing” as an Opportunity Project: The ability to compile everyone’s work in to a virtual model/mockup is less about the model itself (to me), and its more about the process changes that happened the moment we went from a theoretical representation in a drafted detail, to an actual representation done by the parties responsible for the condition. And once that happened, the opportunity to freely say *I’m not the expert on _____, let me ask the expert.”
    In its simplest form, it’s Process Management. It’s simple critical thinking, asking:
    1. What is the right question to be asking?
    2. Who is the right person to be asking?
    3. Am I doing something in the best interests of the whole Project?
    In our own establishment, I prefer to call myself a Director or Digital Design. Why? Because (even when we wax poetic about Integrated Delivery), there is Design, there is Fabrication, and there is Installation, and they are all in different wheelhouses. Maybe they all fit under the BIM umbrella, but it’s a disservice to my collaborative partners in the industry, to not differentiate the hard work they do in the arenas of Fabrication, Logistics and Installation. So I prefer to humbly say that my realm of responsibilities is aiding with the Digital Design and Documentation of the “to be built environment,” and that- when it comes time to interface with my colleagues in Fabrication and Construction- that I’m asking the right questions, providing the right materials, and working towards the projects best interests. I guess if that’s BIM, so be it. For me its just Critical Thinking. =)

  3. Pingback: “What if” tomorrow drawings were not required? | PPT Practitioner

  4. Great post, and spot on.
    We’ve been BIMstop.com for 4 years, but sadly in the last 3 years “BIM”-everything has appeared diluting what it meant in the first place… so we may eventually look to move away from this name.

    These are tools for getting things done. Hilariously in January I was at an executive course at MIT in Boston, and the head of MIT’s business schooled used your above GSD acronym in his opening speech! Wise words.

    Now let’s get started on the term “Cloud”, someone must be due to release a “BIM-Cloud” 😉

Leave a Reply

